Happy Birthday Elias!

April 8, 2010 at 7:09 pm Leave a comment

Our baby boy Elias Julian Thronson was born one week early on April Fool’s Day, at 11:16am weighing in at 7lb 9oz and 19.5in.  Today, April 8th, is his due date and one week birthday.  Unfortunately for him his gift is a little snip-snip (sorry buddy!), but I thought I would also write him a letter.

Dear Elias,

Wow, I can’t believe just a week ago you were in my belly.  I thought I wasn’t ready yet for you to come out into the world to meet us.  I loved feeling your kicks (or as we have now figured out, your strong right upper cut, I can show your daddy exactly where that right arm was!)  It seemed safer and easier to care for you when you were inside me, and I was convinced you were coming late.  Instead, you decided to play the ultimate April Fool’s joke and arrive early.  I’m so grateful you did.

In my biased opinion, you are the most beautiful baby I have ever held, and I am so lucky to get to spend so much time with you.  Your daddy and I thought we wouldn’t be those parents are head over heels for their child, but you have successfully wrapped us around your little finger and converted us.  I sometimes think I couldn’t possibly love you more, then the next day (ok, or next hour), I find myself loving you even more. 

Those first few days at home were pretty exhausting.  The doctor was concerned about your weight loss and had us waking you up every 2 hours to feed, which meant mommy and daddy were lucky to get 60min of sleep between feedings.  After 2 days of this, I’m not sure how safe it was for us to be driving to your doctor’s appointments.  I almost cried and hugged the doctor when she said we could back off to 3hr feedings, giving us time to sleep in 2hr increments. 

Your daddy and I are amazed by you every day.  Your daddy (and the nurses) were impressed with your neck strength during your first bath at the hospital.  You were sitting there, fussing a bit, then all of a sudden lifted your head up and stared at the nurse, trying to figure out what was going on.  We love watching you sleep (even though we should be sleeping too!) because you make such amazing facial expressions.  Here are some of our favorite moments with you that made us laugh:

  • Your poos sound like those of an old man (or a Lindabury!)
  • You like to conduct an orchestra while you sleep
  • When you fall asleep during feedings, Daddy uses you as a puppet to tell stories.  We laugh and laugh, and you stay sound asleep.
  • When you are nursing and I sneeze, it looks like a tidal wave across the goods – and it doesn’t faze you!
  • When you are passed out sleeping with milk left on your lips, it looks like you are sleeping off a wild and crazy night on the town.

We look forward to many more birthday celebrations and fun moments with you!

Love always,

Mommy

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The One With THE BELLY My Birth Story

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



